Who is responsible for the Turkey bombing?

One Turkish security guard was killed and several others were wounded on the morning of February 1st at 1:15pm. The suspect, later identified as Ecevit Sanli, 40, stood outside of the U.S. embassy in Ankara and blew up 13 lb. of explosives. The suicide bomber was blown to pieces.

Who is responsible for the Turkey bombing
In the flurry of activity that flooded news sources and social media outlets, people tried to figure out who the culprits were. Of course there was Al Qaeda which was blamed for terrorist attacks in Istanbul in 2003. The Kurdistan Workers’ Party was next on the list as they have been at war with Turkey for nearly 30 years. Syria followed since relations fell apart, and the countries became enemies after an armed insurgency that ousted President Bashar Assad. Syria has also been suspected of being behind a deadly bombing in Gaziantep in August. Of course Iran made the list for their recent deployment of a NATO Patriot missile. Last but not least there were Islamic extremists.
However, the culprits were apparently the Revolutionary People’s Liberation Party-Front *DHKP-C), a Marxist organization. The Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan declared that Sanli, the bomber was a member of the group, and had apparently been jailed on terrorism charges between 1997 and 2002.

On Saturday the DHKP-C posted a statement on line that claimed responsibility for the attack on the embassy. They also called the U.S. murderers of people of the world, and sent an austere warning to the Obama Administration to “get your bases, your missiles and your Patriots the hell out of our country.” They also accused the AKP government of being “a lackey to imperialists who seek to overthrow al-Assad.”
A question remains: did Syria actually coerce the DKHP-C into the bombing, or was the group working solo? The bombing did come after a severe police crackdown on DKHP that has jailed 55 members and charged them with terrorism. This has caused a rise in DKHP-C violence.

Comments are closed.